Curating Online Resources Tutorial

For my final project piece I have chosen to base it on endocrine hormones as this is something I struggle with because of all the different pathways and I think this will help me in creating a resource that is simple to follow and worthwhile. This tutorial suggested we get started by creating a mind map of all the things we could include and use. I tried to use MindMeister but couldn’t work out how to use it within 10 minutes, got frustrated and so resorted to old school paper and pen. Here is my mindmap:

20160515_115846

I’m glad to have started having a think about what exactly I want to include in my resource and gathering some sources together. Also having a think about what kinds of media I could use makes me feel a bit more prepared!

The second part of this tutorial asked us to look at several tools for saving websites and links and then to pick one that we will use throughout our projects. I’ve chosen to use Diigo because I like that you can highlight text within documents online without having to download them. What a great space saving feature! Having registered with Diigo, I’ve now gone back to the resources I’ve listed in my mind map and saved them for future, fast easily accessible reading!

I’ve also downloaded Colwiz which is a citation and referencing tool that I think might be useful for this project but perhaps more useful for me next year when I undertake my 4th year project. O I wonder if I’ll blog about that process?

Laura

One thought on “Curating Online Resources Tutorial

Leave a comment